’Dogs take out ’Cats, 71-50

-A A +A
By Brody Jones


In what was truly a rowdy and raucous atmosphere at Oliver Springs’ Terry L. Hacker Gymnasium, the Wartburg Bulldogs seized upon the crowd's energy and rolled past the Oliver Springs Bobcats by a 71-50 margin Friday night in the opening round of the District 4-A Tournament. 

The 'Dogs came out marking their territory to the basket early on with four 3-point bombs detonated in the first period by Daniel Justes for 12 first period points to give Wartburg the 19-6 lead early on.

Aaron Noe (4 points) led the 'Cats offensive output.

Oliver Springs pulled within 26-15 at one point in the second period before momentum unraveled in the form of a 7-1 swing by the Bulldogs to take a 33-16 halftime lead. 

Thomas Carroll (5 points) and Adam Kilby (4 points) led Wartburg in the second period with Noe (5 points) leading the Bobcats again on offense. 

The third period would see the 'Dogs expand the lead by two points with both teams combining for 36 third period points to take a 52-33 lead at the end of the third period. 

Adam Kilby (9 points) led the third period scoring for Wartburg as Noe (7 points) and Taylor Murray (6 points) led the Bobcats. 

The final period would see Wartburg and Oliver Springs again combine for 36 points with the same result as the previous period to make the final score 71-50, keeping the Bulldogs season alive and ending the Bobcats' season. 

Justes (22 points, 6 assists, 5 steals, 5 three-pointers), Kilby (18 points, 16 boards) and Carroll (10 points) all broke into double digit scoring for Wartburg. 

Bronson Beasley (8 points) and Patrick Jones (5 boards) also had stellar showings in the victory. 

The 'Cats were led in defeat by  Noe (20 points), Shelby Morgan (13 points, 6 boards) and  Murray (7 points, 13 boards) with Collin Moss (6 boards) also playing well in the loss.

Wartburg (71) Justes 22, Kilby 18, Carroll 10, Beasley 8, Jones 5, Smith 3, Luttrell 3, Hawn 1. Adkisson 1.

Oliver Springs (50) Noe 20, Morgan 13, Murray 7, Moss 5, Evans 3, Miller 2.