Alliance gets the silver for sustainability

-A A +A

The Roane Alliance received a Silver Award on behalf of Roane County at the TVA Valley Sustainable Communities Program Recognition Luncheon on Dec. 3 in Nashville.


The award ceremony honored 13 communities from across the Tennessee Valley.

The trophy was presented by Heidi Smith, general manager of Global Business of TVA Economic Development, to Leslie Henderson, president/CEO of The Roane Alliance; Teresa Jackson, Roane’s sustainable officer with The Roane Alliance; and Danice Turpin, director of Tennessee College of Applied Technology and a member of the Roane Green Team.

“This award shows prospective business and industries that Roane County is committed to sustainability and making our community a better place to live and to work,” Henderson said.

Other Tennessee communities honored included Athens/McMinn County, Chattanooga/Hamilton County, Cookeville, Franklin, Germantown, Knoxville, Lewisburg, Nashville, Oak Ridge, Washington County and Wayne County.

Also honored was Oxford/Lafayette County in Mississippi.

Roane County received the Valley Sustainable Silver Community designation in August after completing a TVA-sponsored program that was developed and administered by consultant Boyette Strategic Advisors.

The program was designed to help communities improve existing sustainability programs and increase their ability to attract new investment in their community.

By documenting and publishing a community’s assets, companies looking to invest in new or expanded locations will more likely view the community as progressive and competitive.

“Sustainability has become a key issue for economic development organizations and communities as more corporations have demonstrated an increasing commitment to sustainability,” Jackson said.

“I am amazed at how committed folks in Roane County are to these efforts.”

The Roane Alliance is Roane County’s economic development organization and con-sists of both public and private organizations, including the Roane County Chamber of Commerce, the Roane County Industrial Development Board and the Roane County Visitors Bureau.

For more about Roane County’s sustainability programs, visit www.SustainableRoane.com.