- Special Sections
- Public Notices
From Oct. 15 through May 15, anyone doing outdoor burning in Tennessee are required to obtain a free burn permit from the Tennessee Deptartment of Agriculture, Forestry Division.
Burning without a permit during this time period is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a $50 fine, as well as suppression costs.
To obtain a permit, call your local forestry office Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
You are responsible for your fire and any damages incurred should it escape, as well as liable for suppression costs.
If you have questions about burning conditions or how to maintain a safe fire, or if you have information about arson fires, contact your county forestry office.
If you have questions/concerns about air quality/pollution regulations, contact Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation at 1-888-891-TDEC.
Permitting allows the forestry division to inform burners whether conditions are safe and to give safety tips.
Permitting also lets forestry officials know where smoke columns are originating, so thy do not responding to fires unnecessarily.
If you do burn, follow these safety tips:
• Do not burn adjacent to forest or grassland.
• Watch the wind.
• Have tools and help on hand to contain the fire.
• Dig a line down to mineral soil around the fire.
• Notify neighbors.
• Get a permit and check local burn ordinances.
• Do not leave your fire until it is comptetely out.
Finally, if you live in or near the forest, take time to make sure that your home or property can survive a wildfire.
The easiest way to get started is to go to the State Forestry Division’s website and download the free Firewise brochure at http://burnsafetn.org. The number to call for a burn permit locally is 354-1054.