Farmers asked to cast vote for FSA committee

-A A +A

Eligible farmers and ranchers in Roane County have until Dec. 6 to cast their ballots in the 2010 Farm Service Agency county committee elections.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has mailed ballots to eligible voters for the election, which began Nov. 5.

“All eligible farmers and ranchers can make a difference by voting in this year’s county committee elections,” said Gene Davidson, Tennessee Farm Service Agency executive director.

“County committee members will provide input and make important decisions on the local administration of new disaster and conservation programs under the 2008 Farm Bill,” he added.

“I particularly encourage minority and women producers to get involved so that county committees fairly represent the producers of a county or multi-county jurisdiction.”

County committee members are an important component of the operations of FSA and provide a link between the agricultural community and the USDA.

Farmers and ranchers elected to county committees help deliver FSA programs at the local level, applying their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on commodity price support loans and payments; conservation programs; incentive indemnity and disaster payments for some commodities; emergency programs and payment eligibility.

FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program. An individual not of legal voting age but who supervises and conducts farming operations of an entire farm also may be eligible to vote.

Agricultural producers in each county submitted candidate nominations during the nomination period, which ended on Aug. 2.

Eligible voters who do not receive ballots in the coming week can obtain ballots from the Roane/Loudon County Farm Service agency at 424 N. Kentucky St., Kingston. Call 376-2392 for details.

Ballots are due to be submitted in person to USDA Service Centers by Dec. 6.

Ballots returned by mail must also be postmarked no later than Dec. 6. Newly elected committee members and their alternates will take office Jan. 1, 2011.

Close to 7,900 FSA county committee members serve in the 2,244 FSA offices nationwide.

Each committee consists of three to 11 members who serve three-year terms. About one-third of county committee seats are up for election each year. 

More information on county committees, such as the new 2010 fact sheet and brochures, can be found on the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections or at the Roane/Loudon County FSA.