Mayors on 3 city ballots in November

-A A +A
By The Staff

From staff reports

One down, one to go.

As the Roane County Election Commission certified the results of the Aug. 7 county election on Friday, its members and staff are gearing up for the Nov. 4 election.

And it promises to be a big one — not only are Roane Countians deciding on state and federal races, residents of three cities will be choosing some of the officials who will run those municipalities over the next four years.

Campaigns should be gearing up soon. Aug. 21 is the deadline to qualify for races in Kingston, Oliver Springs and Rockwood.

All three municipalities opted to move their elections to coincide with those in November.

And all three will have mayoral races. Incumbent mayors in Kingston and Oliver Springs look to be facing opposition.

Residents in Rockwood will elect a new mayor.

City officials there can serve for only two consecutive terms, and Mayor James Watts is subject to those term limits in this election.

Watts was a sitting Rockwood City Council member when he was elected mayor in 2009.

As of Friday afternoon, the following people had qualified for city elections:


Mayor — Incumbent Troy Beets and Kingston City Council member Tim Neal.

City Council (three seats) — Randy E. Childs, Larry C. Cox, Sarah Humphreys, incumbent Don White and Stephanie Wright.

Oliver Springs

Board of Alderman, Ward 2 — Incumbent Maurice Walker.

Board of Alderman, Ward 4 — Nathan Benson.


Mayor — Peggy C. Evans, a sitting Rockwood City Council member and former vice mayor.

Those who have taken out petitions to qualify but had not returned them to the Election Commission office as of Friday afternoon are:


Mayor — Robert S. Parker.

City Council — Kirk Papa.

Oliver Springs

Mayor — Incumbent Chris Hepler and Gerald E. Vann.

Alderman Ward 1 — Robert L. Miller Sr.

Alderman Ward 2 — Jeffery L. Bass.

Alderman Ward 4 — Incumbent M.T. “Terry” Craze and Jessica R. Jones.


City Council (three seats) ­— Fred “Bo” Baudin, Phyllis Ellis, Robert Anderson, Michael E. McCullough, incumbent Samuel Houston Seat and Calvin S. Trew.

Voters in Harriman and Kingston will decide whether to sell wine in grocery stores in those cities.

Petitions are also out asking voters in Rockwood and Oak Ridge to consider the same measure, but neither had been returned to qualify for the ballot as of Friday afternoon.

Candidates have until noon Aug. 21 to qualify for municipal races. Those who have qualified have until noon Aug. 28 to withdraw.