Miller vs. Evans for mayor in Rockwood

-A A +A

From staff reports

One of Rockwood’s most outspoken City Council members and a former mayor will be facing off in November for the city’s top elected position.

Mike “Brillo” Miller filed papers Tuesday to reclaim the seat he vacated in 2009 due to Rockwood term limits.

He will be challenged by Peggy Evans, a first-term City Council member who, until recently, sat as the city’s vice mayor.

Evans filed her petition qualifying as a candidate for mayor on June 27. Until Tuesday — 48 hours before the filing deadline for the November races — she had been unopposed.

Rockwood, Kingston and Oliver Springs all opted to have their municipal elections to coincide with November races.

The deadline to file was at noon Thursday.

The mayors of all three municipalities will be decided on the November ballot. And all three are contested races.

In Kingston, incumbent Troy Beets is challenged by Tim Neal, a Kingston City Council member.

It won’t be the first time the two have opposed each other for mayor.

They went head-to-head in 2005, when Beets, then a newcomer to city politics, claimed the victory. He has held the seat ever since.

Oliver Springs Mayor Chris Hepler is facing opposition from Jerry Vann. Hepler has been mayor since 2006, when he ascended to the job due to the death of then-Mayor Ed Kelley.

Three seats are up for grabs on both Kingston and Rockwood city councils.

In Oliver Springs, voters will be deciding on Board of Aldermen members for Wards 1, 2 and 4.

Interest is heaviest in the Rockwood races, where eight candidates have qualified.

They include incumbent Sam Seat, who was recently appointed to fill out the remainder of the term left vacant due to the death of Pete Wright.

He is being challenged by Robert “Bobby” Anderson, Fred “Bo” Baudin, Phyllis Ellis, Dudley Evans, Harold Holloway, Michael McCullough and Shane Trew.

Dudley Evans is a former Council member, and Holloway is a former Council member and mayor.

In Kingston, Don White is the only incumbent in a field of six candidates. He is being opposed by Randy Childs, Larry Cox, former Council member Sarah Humphreys, Kirk Papa and Stephanie Wright.

Only Robert L. Miller Sr. is unopposed — for the Oliver Springs Board of Aldermen seat in Ward 1.

Incumbent Maurice Walker is being challenged by Jeffery Bass for his Ward 2 seat. And in Ward 4, incumbent Terry Craze is facing Nathan Benson.

Various federal and state races, including governor, will also be on the November ballot.

Voters in Harriman and Kingston will also decide whether to allow wine sales in retail food stores.

The deadline for filing petitions for that particular matter was at 4:30 p.m. Thursday.

Roane County Administrator of Elections Charles Holiway said the matter could also be decided by Rockwood voters.

Signatures were being collected for that city at press deadline on Thursday.

A special provision in Tennessee Code Annotated allowed the qualification for that matter to be filed by close of business on Thursday.