Morgan graduations begin Thursday

-A A +A
By The Staff


Morgan County News

Members of the Class of 2008 are set to walk across the stage later this week as their high school careers draw to a close.

There will be a total of 228 graduates receiving a diploma in the county’s four commencement services.

Following tradition, Coalfield will be the first school in the county to hold its commencement, which is scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, May 22. Fifty-three seniors make up the graduating class at Coalfield.

The valedictorian is Andrea Charlene Lowe. She is joined at the top of the class by salutatorians Melissa Lee Adkisson, Madalyn Michael Edwards and Andrea Colby Powers.

Oakdale’s commencement is scheduled for 10 a.m. Saturday, May 24. Forty-six graduates make up the Class of 2008 at Oakdale.

This year five graduates share the honor of class valedictorian. They are Amelia Comer, Sarah Crabtree, Shaina O’Dell, Rachel Ruppe and Whitney Snow. Class salutatorians are Jacob Kamer and Zack Miles.

Central High’s commencement service will begin at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, May 24 with 87 graduating seniors.

Leading the class at Central are valedictorians Skylar Adams, Madison Branstetter, Stacey Galloway, Allison Olmstead, Vade Scruggs, and Mahala Stedam. Graduating as salutatorians are Sierra Davis and Amanda Staten.

Graduates at Sunbright will be the last group to receive a high school diploma in the county.

The commencement at Sunbright will begin at 3 p.m. on Sunday, May 25.

Shayne Kreis is the valedictorian and Zack Nitzchke is salutatorian.

Things should be considerably cooler for the members of the Class of 2008 and their guests.

This will be the first year that the gyms in the county’s four high schools are air conditioned.

Assistant Director of Schools Wanda Lane said on Tuesday that the work on the gym cooling systems is complete and this week will be the first real test of how well they work.

For more complete information on the Class of 2008 please see the tribute inside this week’s issue of Morgan County News.