Roane athletes dominate Magyar team

-A A +A
By The Staff



The 2007 Richard Magyar Memorial All Tri-County Football Team was recently announced and Roane County is again well represented on the all-star squad as 23 of the team’s 39 members are from Harriman, Kingston, Midway, Oliver Springs and Rockwood.

Midway leads the Roane County contingent with six players including 2007 Tri-County Player of the Year Ray Robinson. Only a junior, Robinson rushed for 1,800 yards and 22 TDs this season and has amassed 4,000 yards rushing after three seasons.

Robinson, however, isn’t Midway’s only superlative on the squad as Green Wave QB Eric Stansbury was named the 2007 Offensive Player of the Year. Stansbury rushed and passed for a combined 1,260 yards on the season and scored a total of 27 TDs.

Midway’s remaining four selections include OL Ashton Chinn, LB Chris Barry, DB Harley Davidson and KR Will Poe.

Besides their six players, 2007 Coach of the Year Craig Moser also represents Midway. Moser guided the Green Waves to a school record 11-2 season, a Region 2-A championship and a TSSAA Class A quarterfinal appearance.

Harriman, Rockwood and Kingston landed five players each on the squad.

Defensive Player of the Year Bryant Allen leads the Tigers. Allen recorded more than 100 tackles on the season for his fourth straight year and he also rushed for 774 yards and 10 TDs in 2007.

Joining Allen from Rockwood are TE Matt Roberts, K Matt Hill, DE Simon Moriarty and DB Zach Breazeale.

Harriman also had one superlative named to the squad as Dimitrique Inman has been named the 2007 Freshman of the Year. Inman rushed for 377 yards and had 153 yards receiving on the season. He scored a total of six TDs, including two via interception returns.

Joining Inman from Harriman are OL Holden Woods, DL P.J. Burgess, LB C.J. Anderson and Athlete A.J. Johnson.

Kingston’s five selections include RB James Sams, OL Derek Luttrell, DL Chris Stout, DE Zach Zeigler and LB Alex Roberts.

Roane County’s remaining two selections to the team belong to Oliver Springs LB B.B. Bailey and P Jake Johnson.

Remaining All Tri-County team members include: Sophomore of the Year Braxton Hutson (Oneida), QB Drew Kennedy (Sunbright), RB Shawn Armes (Coalfield), RB Kasey Perkins (Oakdale), WR Joe Brooks (Scott), William Carroll (Sunbright), OL Arron Huff (Coalfield), OL Koty Duncan (Oneida), ATH. Josh Jeffers (Scott), DL Justin Terry (Oneida), DL William Armes (Coalfield), DL Cody Posey (Oneida), LB Travis Hamby (Wartburg), DB Jared Sexton (Scott), DB Aaron Buttram (Oneida), and PR Scottie Phillips (Wartburg).