Roane athletes now all-staters

-A A +A
By The Staff



The Tennessee Sports Writers Association (TSWA) released their 2008 Class A All-State Baseball and Softball teams earlier this week and Roane County is well represented as a total of four players received all-state honors.

In softball, Midway’s Hannah Colyer and Oliver Springs’ Kim Hall were named to the 2008 TSWA All-State Team while Rockwood’s duo of Zach Breazeale and Bryant Allen were selected to the 2008 TSWA All-State Team in baseball.

Hall, a junior, was selected to the squad as a utility player, but the main reason for her selection is her abilities on the pitching rubber.

Hall led Oliver Springs to the regular season District 4-A championship this season and only once in 10 district games did an opponent score more than one run against the Lady ‘Cat ace and her defense.

In postseason play, Hall’s right arm led the way for the Lady ‘Cats as she led Oliver Springs to the District 4-A title game and the Region 2-A Tournament. In 40 innings of work in the postseason, Hall recorded 66 strikeouts.

Hall was also named the District 4-A Player of the Year earlier this season.

Colyer was just as dominant as the Lady Wave junior led Midway to a 24-5 record and the team’s third straight district and region championship as well as their third straight trip to the TSSAA Class A State Tournament.

Colyer tossed two perfect games and 11 shutouts along the way. She was at her best when it mattered the most as Colyer and the Lady Waves allowed only one run in region and sectional play. Colyer tossed back-to-back shutouts against Coalfield and Unaka in the Region 2-A Championship game and TSSAA Class A Sectional game.

Colyer was also named the District 3-A Tournament MVP this season.

Coalfield eighth-grade pitcher Lindsey Fadnek was the only other player from District 3-A or 4-A to be selected to the TSWA All-State Team.

Other team members include Shelby Stinnett (Forrest), Hailey Rutledge (Friendship), Savannah Cole (Cornersville), Amber Webb (Whitwell), Brooke Thomas (Huntingdon), Tay-lor Adkins (Monterey), Brianda Elmore (Forrest), Tori Wolaver (Cornersville), Jordan Mathis (Collinwood), Ellen Renfroe (Trinity), Ivy Renfroe (Trinity), Shelby Burchell (Co-lumbia Academy), Gabby Bussell (Forrest), Camille Cross (Friendship), Whitney Long (Whitwell), Haley Mathis (Forrest), Samantha Farley (Monterey), Brittany McGhee (North Greene) and Laken Black (Houston County).

The 2008 TSWA Coach of the Year is Forrest’s Becky Cheatham.

In baseball, Rockwood had several players worthy of all-state consideration with Breazeale and Allen being chosen all-state.

Breazeale was named the District 3-A Player this season for his all-around game.

As a hitter, Breazeale hit .412 on the season with five home runs and 36 RBIs. He also had nine doubles and 27 runs scored.

Breazeale, however, is best known for his strong left arm. Breazeale was Rockwood’s big game pitcher for the past two seasons and he finished the 2008 campaign with a 12-3 re-cord with his biggest win of the season coming in the TSSAA Class A Sectional game as he tossed a complete-game shutout against University School of Johnson City.

He ended the season with 65 strikeouts and only nine walks in 71 2/3 innings pitched.

Allen did most of his damage with his bat as the Tiger third baseman was one of the scariest hitters in all of Class A baseball. Allen ended the season with a .396 average with five home runs and 30 RBIs. He also had 10 doubles and 40 runs scored.

Other TSWA Class A All-State Team members include Corey Mullins (Cascade), Bubba Clifton (Mt. Pleasant), Logan Alley (Coalfield), Corey Key (Coalfield), Lance Rorex (Lookout Valley), Clint Gobbell (Summertown), Logan Harville (Summertown), Matt Beaty (Dres-den), Martin Key (Jackson Christian), Craig Davis (Halls) Cade Chambers (Adamsville), James Blackwell (Eagleville), Will Clinard (East Robertson), Devin Hightower (Clarksville Academy), Josh Brown (Cascade), Cole McAdams (Huntingdon), Patrick Taggart (Jackson Christian), Brandon O’Dell (Lookout Valley), Chris Carrington (Summertown).