Roane County well represented on all district squad

-A A +A
By The Staff



The coaches in District 3-A recently got together and selected their 2008 All-District Team. Roane County is well represented on the squad as a total of 11 players from Harriman, Rockwood and Midway were named all-district.

On the girls' side, district champion Greenback walked away with the two biggest awards as Angie Lucier was named the 2008 District 3-A Coach of the Year while Jama Hammontree was named the 2008 District 3-A Player of the Year.

Harriman had three players selected to the girls' squad as the coaches chose all Kiersten Douglass, Moriah Anderson and Jasmine Fuqua.

Rockwood and Midway each had two selections on the squad as Kathryn Beard and Amanda Soard represent the Lady Waves while Amanda Hackler and Kayla Powell were chosen from Rockwood.

Greenback's Megan Rollins, Hannah Dukes and Kelsey Wheeler round out the squad.

Greenback also walked away with one of the major awards on the boys' side as Cherokee head coach Eddie McCollum was selected as the 2008 District 3-A Coach of the Year.

District champion Grace Christian would see Cameron Pridemore selected as the 2008 District 3-A Player of the Year.

Harriman would have three players named all-district as seniors Jarvis Inman and Cody McGill along with freshman Dimitrique Inman were chosen to represent the Blue Devils.

Rockwood's Zach Breazeale would be the final player from Roane County to make the team.

Other players on the team include: David Amos (Knox Christian), Chris Blue (Knox Christian), Michael Mardis (Greenback), Trai Smith (Greenback), Rob Tipton (Knox Christian), Mykael Titlow (Greenback) and Adrian Wannamaker (Grace).

Rockwood’s Simon Moriarty and Midway’s Zack Hall earned honorable mention honors.