Roane grads recipients of Tennessee Scholars awards

-A A +A

Five 2012 Roane County high school graduates will begin their freshman year at Roane State Community College with $500 Tennessee Scholars scholarships.

The Tennessee Scholars initiative encourages students to take more demanding classes throughout their high school years.

Roane State continues to support this initiative by offering scholarships to students from Tennessee Scholars high schools in the college’s service area.

The Roane County scholarship recipients are Rachel Burgess, Midway High School; Mollie Ea-son, Roane County High School; Alex Kelley, Oliver Springs High School; Torie McGowan, Harriman High School and Cameron Webster, Rockwood High School.

Students from Roane, Campbell, Cumberland, Morgan and Scott counties school systems participated in the Tennessee Scholars scholarship competition this year.

Students apply for the scholarship awards, and winners are selected through a drawing.

Each student may use the $500 scholarship to help pay for tuition, books or fees.

For more information regarding the Tennessee Scholars program, visit www.tennesseescholars.org, or contact Roane State Placement Director Kim Harris at 882-4695.