Roane players receive all-district recognition

-A A +A
By Goose Lindsay



Baseball season recently came to a close, and with the end of the season comes postseason awards.

Some of those awards came out near the end of the regular season as a total of 20 players from Roane County’s five high schools received all-district honors.

Rockwood senior Dannon Grubb received the biggest award in 2014 amongst Roane County players as he was named the 2014 District 3-A Co-Player of the Year along with Grace Christian’s Chandler Adkins.

Grubb scorched the baseball all season as he hit .564 with 10 doubles and five home runs. He also drove in 54 runs while scoring 37 runs and stealing 16 bases.

Grubb was one of three Tigers to be named to the All District 3-A Team. Seniors Hunter Grant and Jordan Breazeale joined him on the squad.

Midway had the most players named to the All District 3-A Team as four Green Wave players made the squad. The quartet includes Justin Dutton, Zach Edwards, Hayden Hester and Christian Moore.

Harriman also had one player named to the All District 3-A Team as right-handed flamethrower Chase Randolph joins the squad.

Two other players from Roane County received superlative awards with both coming from Oliver Springs in District 4-A. Bobcat slugger Tanner Turpin was named the District 4-A Offensive Player of the Year while freshman Jeremiah Johnson was tabbed as the District 4-A Co-Newcomer of the Year along with Wartburg’s Jared Miller.

Turpin hit .545 on the season with 11 doubles, 25 RBIs and 10 stolen bases. Johnson hit .352 in his first year while starting at shortstop.

Three other Bobcats, Dylan Seiber, Elijah White and Keith Roberts, were also named to the All District 4-A Team.

The team with the most players from Roane County receiving postseason awards came in District 4-AA as a total of seven Kingston Yellow Jackets were honored.

Cody Mitchell and Brandon Donathan were All District 4-AA first team selections while Noah Cash, Paul Bolden and Preston Edmonds were honorable mention selections. Two more Jackets, Dakota Henry and Thomas Mathews, were named to the all-academic team in District 4-AA.