-A A +A

These got to kick back while other candidates stumped and stressed

By Damon Lawrence

One-third of the new Roane County Commission was already set before Thursday’s election. Five of the people running for the commission’s 15 seats didn’t face challengers.

The unopposed group included District 3 newcomer Todd Fink, District 4 incumbents James Brummett and Steve Kelley, and District 7 incumbents Carolyn Granger and Stanley Moore.

“I don’t take it for granted,” Brummett said, about running unopposed. “I’m overwhelmed by the gratitude and the confidence that the people have in me. I appreciate that.”

The upcoming commission term, which starts on Sept. 1, will be the second for Granger and Moore. Both faced opponents when they ran in 2010.

“I like the thought of running unopposed,” Moore said. “It makes things a little easier.”

He believes they are unopposed this year because constituents are happy with the job they’ve done.

“Hopefully, we can continue to do a good job for our constituents throughout the year,” he said. “I know we appreciate their confidence in us.”

In addition to this year, Brummett and Kelley also ran unopposed in 2010.

“I try to stay in touch with my constituents, and if there’s anything I can help them with, I try to do that,” Brummett said.

Kelley had a different take: “I think it’s a shame that more people don’t get involved.”

Commissioners have four-year terms. Their responsibilities include setting the property tax rate and budgets for county departments.

“Other people should be running,” Kelley said. “I can’t believe that I’m doing everything that my constituents want me to do.”

District 3 Commissioner Fred Tedder did not seek re-election. Fink will be taking his seat.

Fink, Brummett, Kelley, Granger and Moore weren’t the only ones who didn’t have to watch the polls Thursday night. A number of officials were unopposed, including County Clerk Barbara Anthony, Register of Deeds Sharon Brackett and Trustee Wilma Eblen.

Greg Leffew was unopposed for county attorney. Others running unopposed on Thursday included General Sessions Court Judges Jeff Wicks and Dennis Humphrey, Chancellor Frank Williams, Criminal Court Judge E. Eugene Eblen and 9th Judicial District Attorney General Russell Johnson.