• In the Spotlight: Fritts uses pageant savvy to help cancer research

    Oliver Springs High School senior and HOSA president Breanna Fritts coordinated a beauty pageant to raise funds for cancer research.

    “My grandmother had breast cancer, then my mom had uterine cancer, and then this past year my mom had colon cancer, so cancer’s just in my family. So it’s close to home, the cancer situation,” Fritts said. “It just kind of hit me.”

  • Tech Center introduces new nurse assistants

    Tennessee Technology Center at Harriman recently finished a certified nurse assistant course.

    Graduates of the program include, front row from left, Jennifer Volpitta, Gregory Snow, Jessica Bartlett, Eric Winebarger, Jacob Hamby, instructor Donna Williams; and back row, Jonathan Mitchell, Rebecca Ausburn, Amber Ogle, Mary Crowe, Jessica Pressley, Misty Beach, Jessica Snow, Jessica Woody and Taylor Hamby.

    The students attended clinicals at The Bridge at Rockwood and Harriman Care and Rehabilitation Center.

  • Woody chosen for journalism forum in D.C.

    Aaron Woody of Kingston has been nominated to represent Tennessee as a national youth correspondent to the 2012 Washington Journalism and Media Conference at George Mason University on July 8-13.

    Woody, a student at Midway High School, has been awarded the opportunity to join a select group of 250 students from across the country to participate in an intensive weeklong study of journalism and media.

    He was chosen based on academic accomplishments and a demonstrated interest and excellence in journalism and media studies.

  • RSCC honors Roane students

    A number of Roane County students made the fall 2011 dean’s list at Roane State Community College.

    To be eligible, a student must attain at least a 3.5 grade-point average while attempting 12 or more semester hours.

    Students from Roane county receiving the honors include:

  • Famed poet Angelou to speak at Tennessee Tech

    Civil rights activist, poet, dramatist and educator Maya Angelou will visit Tennessee Tech University on March 20 as part of the university’s celebration of Women’s History Month.

    Angelou’s presentation, co-sponsored by the Tennessee Tech Commission on the Status of Women and Center Stage, will begin at 7 p.m. CDT in the university’s Derryberry Auditorium.

  • Midway Elementary honor roll: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12

    A Honor Roll

    Third Grade

    Gillian Fuhrmeister

    David Keko

    Tarris Shultz

    Jackson Snow

    Abby Townsend

    Dylan Cowell

    Sheleigh Moses

    Cailynn Shelley

    Jayse Wyrick

    Fourth Grade

    Jillian Stoner

    Brendan Burnum

    Andrew Burton

    Dalton Carroll

    Emily Cawood

    Creek Johnston

  • Midway Elementary perfect attendance: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12


    Cheyenne Branson

    Evan Lemons

    First Grade

    Nevaeh Colyer

    Jayleigh Davis

    Chase Letner

    Sierra Cowell

    Paige Gable

    Meredith Sweeney

    Logan Carroll

    Rhyan Helms

    Joey Berryhill

    Destiny Woncki

    John Kevorkian

    Second Grade

    Robert Kupfer

    Gracie Rue

  • Oliver Springs Elementary honor roll: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12

    A Honor Roll

    Alivia Baker

    Michaela Beach

    Taylor Boswell

    Taylor Bradshaw

    Makayla Bryan

    Brandon Buck

    Lindsay Buck

    Patrick Byrge

    Adam Carroll

    Sarah Channell

    Eli Charles

    Caitlin Chaston

    Courtney Chaston

    Tabatha Comeaux

    Sydney Cornett

    Cameron Dabbs

    Jacob Dameron

  • Oliver Springs Elementary Terrific Kids: January 2012

    Colyn Adcock

    Brooklyn Ambrose

    Rebecca Armes

    Megan Armstrong

    Breann Aslinger

    Michaela Beach

    Kaylen Benbenek

    Cherokee Brown

    Shelby Buck

    Jace Bunch

    Jayden Byrd

    Caitlin Chaston

    Courtney Chaston

    Shayla Christopher

    Jesse Coker

    Courtney Collins

    Abigail Doke

    Jonah Duggins

    Josh Ellis

  • Oliver Springs Elementary perfect attendance: Second nine weeks 2011-12

    Dakota Adkins




    Brady Beach

    Michaela Beach


    Mirabella Booth

    Tiffany Boswell


    Keri Brown

    Michael Butler

    Adam Carroll

    Gavin Carter

    Kelby Castleberry

    Sarah Channell

    Eli Charles

    Christen Chaston

    Joseph Chaston