• Varicella vaccine now required for new Tenn. college students

    Incoming students who will begin full-time classes at Tennessee universities and colleges starting this summer and beyond will be required to show proof of having the varicella (chicken pox) vaccine or proof of immunity to the disease.

    This policy is part of a new state law that applies to incoming new full-time students, including those in undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs, said a recent release from East Tennessee State University.

  • Gallaher a Men of Tomorrow award recipient

    Darius Gallaher, a 2011 graduate of Harriman High School, is among 12 East Tennessee high school seniors who received the Men of Tomorrow Scholarship.

    Gallaher, the son of Willie and Missy Gallaher, was honored by the Men of Tomorrow Foundation last week during its 21st annual scholarship banquet in Oak Ridge.

    Guest speaker was Christopher Jackson.

  • Midway cites March, April students of month
  • Yelton a Tenn. queen finalist

    Rockwood High School Homecoming Queen Haley Sue Yelton is a finalist for the 31st annual Tennessee’s Homecoming Queen Selection.

    Yelton, a 2011 Rockwood graduate, will participate in selection activities June 4-5 in Radisson Nashville Airport Hotel.

    She is the daughter of James and Angie Yelton of Rockwood.

    Tennessee's 2011 Homecoming Queen will receive a cash scholarship and an all-expense-paid trip to the national finals to compete with the queens from the other states for the title of America's Homecoming Queen.

  • Two of state’s top FBLA students

    Rockwood High School’s Michelle Edwards and Parker McCullough are among Tennessee’s top Future Business Leaders of America members.

    Edwards, a 2011 graduate, placed second in business calculations during the organization’s state leadership conference in Chattanooga.

    McCullough was awarded third place in economics. He is a rising Rockwood High School senior.

    Students participating in the conference  compete in events that required them to display their knowledge and skills relating to business and technology.

  • Kaldenbach in ETSU honor society

    Katrina Kaldenbach of Kingston is among the 75 East Tennessee State University students accepted for membership and initiated into National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for First-Year Students this past semester.

    Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first-year students. It has more than 200 chapters throughout the United States, and more than 700,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 85 years ago.

  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga dean's list

    A number of University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students from Roane County made the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They include William Andrews, Kayla Christopher, Mathew Deal, Kaila Gunter, Alexis Huddleston, Arielle Lankford, Erin Lay, Kimberly Murray, Abigail Overstreet, Brittany Smith, Matthew Vick and Jesse Wright.

    Students who make a 3.2 or higher semester grade point average are awarded the honor.

  • Power Teaching event slated

    “On the Cutting Edge” is the title of the fourth annual Symposium on Powerful Teaching to be presented by the Leadership Roane County class of 2011.

    The event, for educators from all grade levels, will be from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. June 18 at Roane State Community College’s Roane County campus.

    Topics will include innovations in the classroom, technology in education and creative teaching on a budget.

    Leland Gregory, educational projects manager for the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce, will be the keynote speaker.

  • Four schools represented in second annual Fun Run

    Students from four of eight Roane County elementary schools participated in the recent second annual Roane County Coordinated School Health Fun Run at Fort Southwest Point.

    Purpose of the event, in its second year, was to get children excited about being outdoors, having fun while being involved in physical activity and providing a fun family event.

    Bowers, Kingston, Midway and Midtown elementary schools were represented. Each will receive a minimum of $100 worth of equipment for their physical education programs.

  • Grasham recipient of ’11 Bernard-Greif scholarship

    Recent Rockwood High School graduate Bethany Rachel Grasham is the recipient of the 2011 Bernard-Greif Scholarship Award.

    The scholarship’s two-year total is $2,000.

    Grasham accepted the award on May 17 at Rockwood High School’s awards night.

    She wants to continue her education to pursue a career in nursing.

    She ranked seventh in the 2011 Rockwood High School senior class.

    She will attend Roane State Community College in the fall.