Today's News

  • Higgins signs with Randolph College

    When Harriman senior Lindsey Higgins started her high school career a lot of people believed it would one day end with her signing a college athletic scholarship.

    That day came Wednesday as Higgins signed a basketball scholarship with Randolph College in Lynchburg, Va.

  • Herwehe in Evansville honor society

    Logan Herwehe of Kingston has been inducted into Kappa Mu Epsilon, a national mathematics honor society, at University of Evansville.

    Herwehe, a mathematics major, is one of 27 new members inducted at the UE chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon’s recent annual initiation and banquet.

    Kappa Mu Epsilon is a national mathematics honor society founded in 1931 to promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students.

  • Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville 'A' Honor Roll: fall 2011

    Seven Roane County students were among the 140 at Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville recognized for having an “A” average for the fall term.

    The Roane County students and their field of study are:

    Automotive — Joshua Sherrill.

    Electronics — Jon Hammett.

    Industrial Electricity Modified — Joey Conrad and Mason Poore.

    Surgical Technology — Edward Metheny, Heather Nellis and Stefanie Tweed.

  • Maryville College dean's list: fall 2011

    Three Maryville College students from Roane County have earned placement on the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They are Matthew Barger, Miranda Clower and J. Dalton Stewart.

    All three are graduates of Roane County High School.

    Qualifications for the dean’s list includes a grade-point average of at least 3.6 in all work undertaken with no grade below a C. Only full-time students are considered for dean’s list honors.


  • Emory University graduate: fall 2011

    Kellye Sliger of Rockwood was awarded a master’s degree in public health during fall commencement at Emory University.

    Emory is in Atlanta and boasts Georgia’s largest and most comprehensive health care system.


  • East Tennessee State University’s Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy dean's list: fall 2011

    William C. Carothers of Kingston and Julie A. Colbert and Rebekah L. Loden, both of Rockwood, are among students earning dean’s list achievement at East Tennessee State University’s Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy for fall session.

    Students who qualified for the dean’s list were enrolled in no fewer than 12 credit hours and achieved a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale, with no grade lower than a B-minus.

    ETSU is in Johnson City.

  • Carson-Newman College dean's list: fall 2011

    Jessica Laws of Harriman and Bethany Parker of Rockwood earned placement on the dean’s list at Carson-Newman College for fall semester.

    Students earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher while taking 12 or more credit hours are awarded the distinction of dean’s list honors and feted at a reception sponsored by the Academic Affairs Office and Alpha Chi Honor Society.

    Carson-Newman is in Jefferson City.


  • Bethel University graduate: fall 2011

    Guy Ronald Kaminski of Kingston was awarded a bachelor’s degree during its fall commencement exercises at Bethel University.

    Kaminski graduated from the university’s College of Professional Studies.

    Headquartered in McKenzie, Tenn., Bethel University is affiliated with the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.


  • Argosy University graduate: fall 2011

    Summershea Lynn Shadden of Rockwood recently graduated from Argosy University with a doctorate of education.

    Shadden’s major was educational leadership, a K-12 education emphasis.

    She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Allen Shadden of Rockwood.

    Shadden has been employed with the Cumberland County school system for eight years. She presently teaches sixth-grade language arts at North Cumberland Elementary.

    Argosy University is in Nashville.

  • Students all abuzz in Math Bees

    Kingston Elementary School grade winners in recent Math Bee competitions are, front row from left, first-grader Katherine Bacon, kindergartner Kailey Lane, second-grader Tony Rossi-Denton; and back row, third-grader Brady Luttrell, fifth-grader Nathan Shope and fourth-grder Zeb Webb.

    Each grade level had its own bee, and students from each classroom were represented in the timed competition.