Today's News

  • General Sessions Court

    Editor’s Note: Readers are cautioned that some names may be the same as, or similar to, other members of the community.

    Charberry Vang, speeding Nov. 25. Traffic ticket paid Feb. 9.

    Russell Gilmore, safety belt Dec. 2. Traffic ticket paid Feb. 8.

    Edith H. Washington, financial responsibility Dec. 10. Dismissed Feb. 11, cost to state.

    Daniel Moldovan, speeding Dec. 15. Traffic ticket paid Feb. 2.

    William L. Emory, speeding Dec. 15. Traffic ticket paid Feb. 2.

  • Property Transfers

    Property deed transfers in Roane County from April 1-9:

    From Trent J. Rogers, Stacey Rogers and Stacey C. Rogers to Theresa M. Harris by warranty deed, Dist. 4, Hilltop Farms, Lot 2, $185,000.

    From Naomi Buechel to Timothy L. McCormick and Kiesha L. McCormick by warranty deed, Dist. 2, Greenview, Lot 19, Phase I, $95,000.

    From Charles M. Odell and Kathryn D. Odell to Julie Odell Michie, Tina O. Summers, Roger C. Odell and Jason D. Odell by quit-claim deed, Dist. 5, Smokerise, Lots 4, 5 and 6, $0.

  • Harriman Memorial Day events set

    The city of Harriman’s Memorial Day Parade will be on May 28.

    In the event of inclement weather, activities will be at the American Legion.

    The event will honor all military veterans who  have served to protect the U.S. The Memorial Day parade will extend gratitude to all emergency service workers who have paid the ultimate price while protecting U.S. citizens.  
    The morning events of the day will begin at 10 a.m., when the Harriman American Legion Museum opens with a display of wartime memorabilia.  

  • Nikon Small World exhibit to open

    Awaken the sense of discovery and see another world that exists just beyond perceptible vision, while viewing the merging of science and art in the 2011 Nikon Small World award-winning photomicrographs June 3-Aug. 7 in the American Museum of Science and Energy in Oak Ridge.

    This year's winning entries display a number of outstanding images covering a wide range of biological, chemical, and material substances.  

  • Gallaher a Men of Tomorrow award recipient

    Darius Gallaher, a 2011 graduate of Harriman High School, is among 12 East Tennessee high school seniors who received the Men of Tomorrow Scholarship.

    Gallaher, the son of Willie and Missy Gallaher, was honored by the Men of Tomorrow Foundation last week during its 21st annual scholarship banquet in Oak Ridge.

    Guest speaker was Christopher Jackson.

  • Midway cites March, April students of month
  • Yelton a Tenn. queen finalist

    Rockwood High School Homecoming Queen Haley Sue Yelton is a finalist for the 31st annual Tennessee’s Homecoming Queen Selection.

    Yelton, a 2011 Rockwood graduate, will participate in selection activities June 4-5 in Radisson Nashville Airport Hotel.

    She is the daughter of James and Angie Yelton of Rockwood.

    Tennessee's 2011 Homecoming Queen will receive a cash scholarship and an all-expense-paid trip to the national finals to compete with the queens from the other states for the title of America's Homecoming Queen.

  • Two of state’s top FBLA students

    Rockwood High School’s Michelle Edwards and Parker McCullough are among Tennessee’s top Future Business Leaders of America members.

    Edwards, a 2011 graduate, placed second in business calculations during the organization’s state leadership conference in Chattanooga.

    McCullough was awarded third place in economics. He is a rising Rockwood High School senior.

    Students participating in the conference  compete in events that required them to display their knowledge and skills relating to business and technology.

  • Kaldenbach in ETSU honor society

    Katrina Kaldenbach of Kingston is among the 75 East Tennessee State University students accepted for membership and initiated into National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for First-Year Students this past semester.

    Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first-year students. It has more than 200 chapters throughout the United States, and more than 700,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 85 years ago.

  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga dean's list

    A number of University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students from Roane County made the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They include William Andrews, Kayla Christopher, Mathew Deal, Kaila Gunter, Alexis Huddleston, Arielle Lankford, Erin Lay, Kimberly Murray, Abigail Overstreet, Brittany Smith, Matthew Vick and Jesse Wright.

    Students who make a 3.2 or higher semester grade point average are awarded the honor.