Today's News

  • GLIMPSES: More thoughts on Insure Tennessee


    Author’s note: The following three premises are essential to this column:

    1) None of us see the past or present with absolute clarity; 2) Each of us has the capacity for glimpses of informed insight that draw from and reflect our personal values; and 3) Cordial, forthright exchange of those insights enhances our mutual well being.

  • GUEST OPINION: Why run for public office?

    I spend a fair amount of time talking to students and other young people about Congress and politics in general, and I’ve noticed something.

    It used to be that I’d regularly get asked how one runs for office.

    Nowadays, I rarely do.

  • Maryville College students from Roane County honored

    Two Maryville College students from Roane County were recently honored during the school’s annual academic awards ceremony.

    Senior Matthew Barger was recognized as the recipient of the Otto P. Pflanze Prize for Excellence in History.

    Barger is from Harriman.

    A 2011 graduate of Roane County High School, he is the son of Glendon and Janet Barger of Harriman.

    He is majoring in history at the college.

    Dalton Stewart of Kingston, a senior biochemistry major, was presented the distinguished LeQuire Award.

  • Scholarships presented to Tennessee Scholars

    Five high school seniors from Roane County will each begin their freshman year at Roane State Community College with a $500 Tennessee Scholars scholarship.

    The scholarship recipients are Allison Frogg, Rockwood High School; Lauren Walden, Roane County High School; Aaron Noe, Oliver Springs High School; Jessie Lewis, Midway High School; and Gabby Kilgore, Harriman High School.

    Students decide in their eighth-grade year if they want to participate in the Tennessee Scholars program.

    Participating students then follow the requirements of the pro-

  • 2015-16 School Meal Prices
  • Kellie Ball on High Honor Roll

    Kellie Ball of Harriman has been named to University of the Cumberlands’ High Honor Roll during the 56th annual Honors Day program.

    Ball and other students on the High Honor Roll attained a minimum of 3.85 cumulative standing.

    University of the Cumberlands is in Williamsburg, Ky.

  • Davis tops at Tusculum

    Tusculum College junior Samuel Davis of Harriman was recently recognized as an honor student

    for having the highest grade-point average in his class.

    Davis, a 2012 graduate of Harriman High School, received the honor during Tusculum’s annual Honors Convocation on April 30.

    The ceremony was a means of recognizing student excellence in academics and service at the Greeneville-based college.

  • Hart recipient of scholarship from Rockwood 2000

    Amber Jean Hart, a 2015 graduate of Rockwood High School, is this year’s recipient of the Rockwood 2000 scholarship.

    Hart was selected based on her outstanding academic achievements and strong determination to further her education.

    “As she begins her college years, Rockwood 2000 is proud to assist her with her academic goals,” said Sandy McIntosh of Rockwood 2000.

    Hart has specific goals for her future.

    She has been accepted to Roane State Community College where she will study pharmacy practices.

  • 3 Roane grads recipients of top ETSU honors

    Three recent high school graduates in Roane County are among the recipients of East Tennessee State University’s Academic Performance Scholarships.

    Tanner Green and Joshua Spurling, both of Rockwood, each received a Provost Academic Performance Scholarship to study at the Johnson City-based university.

    Provost recipients must have a grade-point of 3.5 or better, with an ACT score of at least 27 or an SAT score of 1210 or better.

    Abigail Daugherty of Oliver Springs is the recipient of an Academic Service Scholarship.

  • Perfect attendance pays off

    Bowers Elementary School students who earned perfect attendance during the 2014-15 school year received special gifts from the South Harriman Schools Alumni and Friends Organization.

    Those receiving bicycles this year are kindergartener Keyton Williams, first-graders Trystan Arwood and Chloe Utley, second-grader Makenzie Utley, third-grader Evan Chen, fourth-grader Emma Long and fifth-grader Nathaniel Fink.

    Electronic tablets were awarded to students who earned perfect attendance for a second year.