• Meet Midway Elementary’s Junior Beta Club

    Midway Elementary School principal Keevin Woody, far left in back row, recently presented certificates to the school’s Junior Beta Club members.

    They include Elly Goldschmitt, Paige Bacon, Caitlyn Ross, Ashton Lemons, Paul Coley, Rebecca Lemasters, Cassie Johnson, Olivia Bond, Sam Lowe, Carli Price, Emily Townsend, Emily McFee and Emma Hill.

    Not pictured are Karissa Pilkey and Alex Shirran.

  • Make-a-Book winners applauded

    Roane County Schools’ 2011-12 Make-a-Book winners recently recognized by the Roane County Board of Education and retiring Director of Schools Toni McGriff, far left, are from second left, first-place winner and Midtown Elementary School student Mia Jones, second-place winner and Midway Elementary School student Paige Bacon, and third-place winner and Kingston Elementary School student Olliana Long.

    Not pictured is Bowers Elementary School student Brianna Edmonds, who won first-place in the non-fiction category.

  • Uber places in horse-judging competition

    Kaitlin Uber of Kingston was part of the Ellsworth Community College horse-judging team that placed among the Top 20 individuals and the Top 10 teams competing at the American Paint Horse Association Intercollegiate Horse Judging Contest in Fort Worth.

    A total of 12 community college teams and more than 50 students competed.

    Uber also placed 17th in high individual total halter.

  • Roane grads recipients of Tennessee Scholars awards

    Five 2012 Roane County high school graduates will begin their freshman year at Roane State Community College with $500 Tennessee Scholars scholarships.

    The Tennessee Scholars initiative encourages students to take more demanding classes throughout their high school years.

    Roane State continues to support this initiative by offering scholarships to students from Tennessee Scholars high schools in the college’s service area.

  • Middle Tennessee State University graduates: spring 2012

    Caryn P. Parks of Harriman was among the Middle Tennessee State University graduates for spring semester.

    The Murfreesboro-based university awarded 2,399 degrees during the ceremony.

  • Lipscomb University provost's list: spring 2012

    Anna Uselton of Kingston was named to Lipscomb University’s provost’s list for spring semester.

    A Roane County High School graduate, Uselton is majoring in English at the Nashville-based university.

    Students named to the provost’s list earn a 4.0 grade-point average for the semester while taking at least 12 credit hours.


  • Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville graduates, 'A' honor roll: spring 2012

    Five Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville students received their certifications during the spring graduation ceremony.

    They and their course of study are:

    Business Systems Techology — Corey Carter.

    Heating, Ventilation and Air-Conditioning Technology — Tony Grayson.

    Surgical Technology
    — Heather Nellis, Ed Methany and Stephanie Tweed.

  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga graduates: spring 2012

    Three University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students from Roane County received their degrees during spring commencement.

    Kaila Gunter received a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education. Karly Martin’s bachelor’s degree is in nursing, and Brandon Temple received a bachelor’s degree in anthropology.

    More than 1,100 students were in the graduating class.

  • Tennessee Technological University dean's list: spring 2012

    A number of Tennessee Technological University students from Roane County were named to the school’s dean’s list for spring semester.

    They are:

    — Ashley Michelle Jones, Bo Christopher Murphy, Cameron Chase Bruse, Chase Allan Ray, Daniel J. Sexton, Emilee Grace Gettys, Grace Danielle Plemens, Grace Ryan Claudy, Hailey D. Bryant, Jacob Neil Jones, Jennifer Lynn Best, Jessica Lehrice Hunter, Joshua Thomas Riggs, Kevin Frederick Ramsey, Mark Alan Burdette, Rachael Leigh Knox and Sarah Beth Davis.

  • East Tennessee State University graduates: spring 2012

    Three East Tennessee State University students from Harriman were awarded degrees during the Johnson City-based university’s commencement ceremonies for spring semester.

    Receiving bachelor’s degrees were Christopher K. Adams and Patrick L. Dreyer.

    Christina J. Briggs was awarded a master’s degree.

    The university awarded 1,704 degrees during the two ceremonies.