• Edington spelling his way to Beta nationals

    Recent Rockwood High School graduate Andy Edington will represent both his school and Tennessee in the upcoming National Beta Club Convention.

    The convention will be on June 19-22 in Mobile, Ala.

    Edington advanced to the national spelling competition by winning second place in the same event during the Tennessee Beta Club Convention on April 1-3 in Nashville.

  • 2013-14 Roane County Schools Calendar
  • 113 Roane high school seniors cited as Tennessee Scholars

    Roane County Chamber of Commerce, in partnership with Roane County Schools, recognized 113 graduating seniors as Tennessee Scholars during a breakfast ceremony on May 15.

    “The Tennessee Scholars program helps to provide a better pool of future workers to our local business community,” said Chamber President Leslie Henderson. “Local businesses support this program because it is good for students, good for business and [good for] the future of Roane County.”

  • T-shirt quilt reminds kids to stay drug free

    Margie Wadlington, far right, presents Cherokee Middle School seventh-grade reading/language arts teacher Linda Wiseheart, left and principal Elizabeth Rose with was presented with a handmade T-shirt quilt hang in school’s hallway to remind students to remain drug free.

    Wadlington, who served as Cherokee’s school counselor from 1984-94, made the quilts from T-shirts she had saved from her days sponsoring the “Just Say No” program at Cherokee.

  • Approved Field Trips: May 2013

    Upcoming out-of-state and overnight field trips approved by the Roane County Board of Education in May:

    May 17-18 — One hundred twenty Midway Middle students participated in a lock-in at Pigeon Forge Community Center.

    June 7-9 — Rockwood Middle boys basketball team to attend basketball camp at University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

    June 10-12 — Rockwood High boys basketball team to attend basketball camp at Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville.

  • Several from Roane serve as Senate pages

    Christina Nicole Charles and Nora Charles, both of Kingston, recently served as pages in the Tennessee State Senate.  

    Both are homeschooled students.  

    They were sponsored by state Sen. Ken Yager, R-Harriman, who represents Roane County in the Tennessee State Senate.

    Page duties consist of anything from making copies, running errands, to distributing legislative information to members of the General Assembly.

    They report to the chief clerk of the Senate and House of Representatives.

  • Robotics big UCOR grant winners

    Robotics are where the money is in Roane County — at least as far as this year’s URS/CH2M Oak Ridge LLC Mini-Grant Program.

    Cindy Holmes’ Robotics team at Roane County High School and Katie Ruth’s Hands-on Robotics were among the 25 grant recipients from the company, known in the community as UCOR.

  • Alliance works to ensure Education Matters! in future

    The Roane Alliance last week kicked off a fund drive to keep its Education Matters! initiative continuing in the future.

    Funding for the initiative  – a Best Practice program, according to the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce – is being cut as of June 30, when the Knoxville Oak Ridge Innovation Valley ceases providing grant money to its county partners.

  • Bowers Elementary perfect attendance: Third Nine Weeks

    Makinsey Cox
    Aaralyn Humphrey
    First Grade
    Riley Cross
    Jacob Lemons
    Ben McCracken
    Urja Patel
    Madison West
    Second Grade
    Dakota Cross
    Riley Hampton
    Haley Pelfrey
    Madalyn Jones
    Madelyn Ladd
    Kendal Mason
    Seth Underwood
    Billy Joe Chesser
    Third Grade
    TahDarius Boyd
    Javen Crass
    Allan Hovey
    Chase Johnson
    Loki Luttrell

  • Dyllis Springs Elementary perfect attendance: Third Nine Weeks

    Aubrey Loy
    Natalie Moore
    Elliot Blair
    Tabitha Branum
    Kalli Bunch
    Bryler Castleberry
    Jackson Daugherty
    Jayden Davis
    Lauren Payne
    Abby St. Antoine
    Jacob Thomason
    Javen Barger
    Heaven Branum
    Aspen Brown
    Nicole Gann
    Samuel Hearon
    Brady Hester
    Riley McLain
    Kamron Thomason
    Isaac Davis
    Dylan Mitchell
    Tyler Owsley
    Mackenzie Triplett
    Avery Vickery
    Austin Adcox
    Autumn Benbenek