• Rockwood Middle this year’s 5K Pacesetters

    Rockwood Middle School is this year’s recipient of the Pacesetter Trophy for participation in the annual Roane County Schools Run for Your Health 5K Run and Walk.

    The school had 28 participants in the field.

    “Principal Mandy Evans led her school by example,” said race organizer Patti Wells, school health coordinator.

    “Scott Harvey, Rockwood Middle physical education teacher, was key in motivating his Tigers and encouraging them to participate and have fun doing it,” she added.

  • Roane students eligible for five Foundation scholarships

    Roane County students are eligible for five scholarships offered by the East Tennessee Foundation for the 2013-14 school year.

    The B&W Y-12 Scholarship is intended for graduating seniors from 10 counties, including Roane, studying science at Roane State Community College, Pellissippi State Community College, Walters State Community College or Maryville College.

    Examples include biomedical engineering, environmental science, physics, chemistry or pre-engineering. Please note: this scholarship is not intended for those seeking to be health-care professionals.

  • Roane students excel in studies

    Carson-Newman College
    Jessica Johnson of Kingston and Bethany Parker of Rockwood are among the Carson-Newman College students who earned dean’s list honors for fall semester.
    Students earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher while taking 12 or more credit hours are named to the dean’s list and honored at a reception.
    Carson-Newman is in Jefferson City.

    Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville

  • Cherokee Middle honor roll

    First Semester
    A Honor Roll
    Sixth Grade
    Colt Chapman
    Katherine Frye
    Joseph Guymon
    Matthew Miller
    Brenton Nabors
    Jenna Stewart
    Jared Whittenbarger
    Cara Worthy
    Seventh Grade
    Kayla Anderson
    Cole Arden
    Autumn Bowling
    Gary Buell
    Madeline Chance
    David Clark
    Tyson Critchley
    Megan Ellison
    Skylar Estep
    Caleb Estes
    Joshua Futrell

  • Bowers Elementary honor roll second nine weeks

    Second Nine Weeks
    A Honor Roll
    Third Grade
    Zoe Oakes
    Grant Whitlock
    Kaiden Hicks
    Lainey Fink
    Lily Taylor
    Nathaniel Fink
    Carter Smith
    Abigail Roberts
    Abbie Bullard
    Bradley Moore
    Alexandria Storey
    Isaiah Underwood
    Brooke Jenkins
    Matthew Scarbrough
    Elijah Harmon
    Jonathan Cannon
    Piper Suddath
    Maggie Collins
    Layken Kemp
    Fourth Grade

  • Field Trips

    Upcoming out-of-state and overnight field trips approved by the Roane County Board of Education in December:
    Dec. 7-8 — Twenty-two Cherokee Middle and two Harriman Middle band students attend East Tennessee School Band and Orchestra Association Junior Band Clinic at Lee University, Cleveland.

  • Programs for homeschoolers now under way

    The American Museum of Science and Energy, Oak Ridge, is now registering homeschooled students in grades K-6 for its 2013 Homeschool Friday Programs.

    The programs are offered through May 24.

    Topics for the interactive programs are the same for each of the specific groups. Class time and fees vary, however.

    K-2 classes meet for an hour beginning at 10:30 a.m. Cost is $7 for the general public and $5 for museum members.

  • RCHS’s Mutter DAR Good Citizen

    Rachel Mutter, center, of Roane County High School is presented with the DAR Good Citizens Award from Avery Trace DAR Good Citizens Chairwoman Rosemary Alexander, left, and Jane McPherson, Cherokee District DAR vice chairwoman of the Good Citizens Award.

    Mutter received a $50 check, a certificate, the DAR Good Citizens pin and a wallet card.

    Other DAR Good Citizens Award winners are Laci Sells of Harriman High School, Taylor Hargis of Rockwood High School and Elizabeth Poczobut of Midway High School

  • Fifth-graders eligible for poster contest

    The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation is calling all fifth-graders from across the state to participate in the U.S. Department of Justice 2013 National Missing Children’s Day poster contest.

    Students can enter at the state level for a chance to be selected as the national winner and awarded a free trip to Washington D.C.

    Fifth graders in Tennessee can enter the poster contest by submitting them to TBI, who will then pick a state winner to enter into the national contest.

  • Bowers Elementary perfect attendance: First semester, 2012-13

    Anna Hampton

    Mason Roberts

    Cameron Stricklan

    Second Grade
    David Conner

    Dakota Cross

    Riley Hampton

    Javier Ibarra

    Talan Moore

    Haley Pelfrey

    Third Grade
    Dominic Chesser

    Logan Chesser

    Javen Crass

    Landon Parrish

    Abigail Roberts

    Piper Suddeth