• RCHS’s Mutter DAR Good Citizen

    Rachel Mutter, center, of Roane County High School is presented with the DAR Good Citizens Award from Avery Trace DAR Good Citizens Chairwoman Rosemary Alexander, left, and Jane McPherson, Cherokee District DAR vice chairwoman of the Good Citizens Award.

    Mutter received a $50 check, a certificate, the DAR Good Citizens pin and a wallet card.

    Other DAR Good Citizens Award winners are Laci Sells of Harriman High School, Taylor Hargis of Rockwood High School and Elizabeth Poczobut of Midway High School

  • Fifth-graders eligible for poster contest

    The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation is calling all fifth-graders from across the state to participate in the U.S. Department of Justice 2013 National Missing Children’s Day poster contest.

    Students can enter at the state level for a chance to be selected as the national winner and awarded a free trip to Washington D.C.

    Fifth graders in Tennessee can enter the poster contest by submitting them to TBI, who will then pick a state winner to enter into the national contest.

  • Bowers Elementary perfect attendance: First semester, 2012-13

    Anna Hampton

    Mason Roberts

    Cameron Stricklan

    Second Grade
    David Conner

    Dakota Cross

    Riley Hampton

    Javier Ibarra

    Talan Moore

    Haley Pelfrey

    Third Grade
    Dominic Chesser

    Logan Chesser

    Javen Crass

    Landon Parrish

    Abigail Roberts

    Piper Suddeth

  • AMTEC program seeks applicants

    Anyone interested in Roane State Community College’s nationally recognized Advanced Materials Training and Education Center — a no-cost, high-tech training program for those who are unemployed or underemployed — is invited to an upcoming informational meeting at the college’s Roane County campus.

    The meeting will be held Tuesday, Jan. 22, from 6 to 7 p.m. in Room O-101 in the O’Brien Humanities Building.

    Call (865) 481-5436 to reserve a seat.

  • Midway's Hixson the write stuff

    Twenty-four Roane County students received awards during last month’s Roane Writers Group fourth annual Student Writing Contest.

    In a ceremony hosted by television personality Bill Landry, public, private and homeschooled students received cash awards ranging from $25 to $500.

    “This year, more than 580 entries were received,” said Roane Writers Group President B.J. Gillum. “That’s a record.”

  • Harriman students give holiday boost

    Students at Harriman Middle School took advantage of an opportunity to spread some holiday cheer.

    The school’s Positive Peer Pressure — or P-3 — Club decided to do something special for U.S. troops who are stationed overseas and do not receive a lot of mail or contact from home.

    Kris Hontz of the Roane County Anti-Drug Coalition introduced the students to the Adopt A Soldier program.

    The students made Christmas stockings and sent them and Christmas cards to troops stationed in Kuwait.

  • Bowers honors rule followers at special lunch

    Bowers Elementary School Principal Candace Lett and Assistant Principal Kevin Ayers hosted a recent student luncheon for the school’s rule followers.

    The honored students were nominated by their teacher as an example of a student who always follows the school rules and sets a good example for others.

    The honorees are:

    Kindergarten — Bailey Wright, Will Davidson, Tori Whaley, Lyfe Goins and Sumayiah Holmes.

  • RCHS students help others
  • School field trips: Approved November 2012

    Upcoming out-of-state and overnight field trips approved by the Roane County Board of Education in November:
    Dec. 7-9 — Twenty-five Cherokee Middle, four Midway Middle and High, and 20 Roane County High band students to attend East Tennessee School Band and Orchestra Association Junior Band Clinic at Lee University, Cleveland.

    March 13-15 — Midway Middle sixth-graders to attend Camp Wesley Woods.

  • Midway Elementary School honor roll: First Nine Weeks 2012-13

    A Honor Roll
    Third Grade

    Katelyn Braden
    Shayla Wood
    Dalton Bacon
    Shelby Belcher
    Anna Fink
    Marissa Stakely
    R.J. Kupfer
    Seth Gordon
    Jacob Gardner
    Benjamin Beach
    Kimberlyn Cash
    Erica Davidson
    Zane Edwards
    Ethan Melton
    Dominic Meza
    Sawyer Pelfrey
    Halena Shirran
    Macie Young
    Gracie Click
    Brendan Cogdill
    Grace Luke
    Ty Mason
    Scarlett Roberts
    Stella Tilley