• Hayes awarded MTSU fellowship

    Devyn Hope Hayes, a graduate of Oliver Springs High School, has been awarded Middle Tennessee State University’s most prestigious scholarship, the Buchanan Fellowship.

    Limited to 20 students each year, it is the highest academic award given to an entering freshman at MTSU.

    “We are delighted with the breadth and quality of the candidates for the 2015 Buchanan Fellowship class,” said John R. Vile, Honors College dean.

  • Pavilion Society awards scholarships to 6 at RCHS

    Six Roane County High School graduates of 2015 are recipients of scholarships awarded by The Pavilion Society Charitable Foundation Inc.

    “All the applicants were worthy of a scholarship, and it was difficult making the final selection,” said Jean S. Sinclair of The Pavilion Society.

  • Fort lessons for Midway students

    Don Lawrence, Fort Southwest Point’s resident Cherokee, speaks with a group of Midway Elementary School third-graders during a program earlier this month.

    Lawrence explained the Cherokee’s role in the history of the fort, and Mike Woody led the group through a tour of the fort buildings.

    The children were taught about life as a soldier stationed at the fort around 1799.

    Members of Kingston’s Southwest Point Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution, dressed in their Colonial attire, greeted the children.

  • Harriman’s Stafford among NASA scholarship recipients

    Roane State Community College student Corey Stafford works to pay for school.

    Any help with costs, he said, is a relief.

    Stafford is among the first recipients of $1,250 NASA scholarships awarded to Roane State students pursuing degrees in science, technology, engineering or math fields.

    “It helps a lot with books,” he said. “The scholarship relieves a lot of stress.”

    Stafford is a pre-engineering major who plans to transfer to Tennessee Tech.

  • Bernard-Greif Scholarship presented to Jessica Emmert

    Recent Rockwood High School graduate Jessica Emmert is the 2015 recipient of the Bernard-Greif Scholarship.

    This is the 42nd anniversary of this scholarship being awarded to an outstanding student graduating from Rockwood High School.

    The $1,000-a-year scholarship to Roane State Community College is renewable for a second year if the recipient stays at Roane State to earn an associate’s degree. The scholarship value is $2,000.

  • 2015-16 School Calendar
  • Midway Elementary Honor Roll: Third Nine Weeks

    Midway Elementary School applauds students who earned placement on its honor rolls for the third nine weeks’ grading period.

    They are:


    Third grade — Damaris Coronilla, Madalyn Sproehlich, Cheyenne Branson, Reese Collier, Brayden Davidson, Landon Easter, Macy Johnson, Parker Jones, Destiny Squire, Lena Tinker and Will Letner.

  • Midway Elementary Perfect Attendance: Third Nine Weeks

    Midway Elementary School applauds students who earned perfect attendance for the third nine weeks’ grading period.

    They are:

  • Clower a ’15 grad of Sail Away

    Katie N. Reese Clower recently graduated from Sail Away Academy, Kingston.

    She is the daughter of Melinda Reese and Charlie Clower Jr.

    She plans to attend Pellissippi State Community College to pursue a degree in nursing.

  • Midway April, May students of month honored

    Midway Elementary School recently honored students of the month for April and May.