• RSCC honors Roane students

    A number of Roane County students made the fall 2011 dean’s list at Roane State Community College.

    To be eligible, a student must attain at least a 3.5 grade-point average while attempting 12 or more semester hours.

    Students from Roane county receiving the honors include:

  • Famed poet Angelou to speak at Tennessee Tech

    Civil rights activist, poet, dramatist and educator Maya Angelou will visit Tennessee Tech University on March 20 as part of the university’s celebration of Women’s History Month.

    Angelou’s presentation, co-sponsored by the Tennessee Tech Commission on the Status of Women and Center Stage, will begin at 7 p.m. CDT in the university’s Derryberry Auditorium.

  • Midway Elementary honor roll: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12

    A Honor Roll

    Third Grade

    Gillian Fuhrmeister

    David Keko

    Tarris Shultz

    Jackson Snow

    Abby Townsend

    Dylan Cowell

    Sheleigh Moses

    Cailynn Shelley

    Jayse Wyrick

    Fourth Grade

    Jillian Stoner

    Brendan Burnum

    Andrew Burton

    Dalton Carroll

    Emily Cawood

    Creek Johnston

  • Midway Elementary perfect attendance: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12


    Cheyenne Branson

    Evan Lemons

    First Grade

    Nevaeh Colyer

    Jayleigh Davis

    Chase Letner

    Sierra Cowell

    Paige Gable

    Meredith Sweeney

    Logan Carroll

    Rhyan Helms

    Joey Berryhill

    Destiny Woncki

    John Kevorkian

    Second Grade

    Robert Kupfer

    Gracie Rue

  • Oliver Springs Elementary honor roll: Second Nine Weeks, 2011-12

    A Honor Roll

    Alivia Baker

    Michaela Beach

    Taylor Boswell

    Taylor Bradshaw

    Makayla Bryan

    Brandon Buck

    Lindsay Buck

    Patrick Byrge

    Adam Carroll

    Sarah Channell

    Eli Charles

    Caitlin Chaston

    Courtney Chaston

    Tabatha Comeaux

    Sydney Cornett

    Cameron Dabbs

    Jacob Dameron

  • Oliver Springs Elementary Terrific Kids: January 2012

    Colyn Adcock

    Brooklyn Ambrose

    Rebecca Armes

    Megan Armstrong

    Breann Aslinger

    Michaela Beach

    Kaylen Benbenek

    Cherokee Brown

    Shelby Buck

    Jace Bunch

    Jayden Byrd

    Caitlin Chaston

    Courtney Chaston

    Shayla Christopher

    Jesse Coker

    Courtney Collins

    Abigail Doke

    Jonah Duggins

    Josh Ellis

  • Oliver Springs Elementary perfect attendance: Second nine weeks 2011-12

    Dakota Adkins




    Brady Beach

    Michaela Beach


    Mirabella Booth

    Tiffany Boswell


    Keri Brown

    Michael Butler

    Adam Carroll

    Gavin Carter

    Kelby Castleberry

    Sarah Channell

    Eli Charles

    Christen Chaston

    Joseph Chaston

  • 325 take part in Kingston science fair

    Kingston Elementary School’s three-day annual science fair last month included participation by 325 students.

    Each third-, fourth- and fifth-grader participating had to propose a scientific hypothesis, write an abstract, design an experiment to test the hypothesis, keep records and present the finding in a poster session before a panel of judges.

    Kingston Rotary Club and community volunteers served on a panel of 19 judges for the three-day event.

  • Roane rewards students with positive behavior

    Roane County’s School-Wide Positive Behavior Support is a team-based, proactive approach to teaching and prevention that fosters a safe, effective learning environment and a positive social culture.

    When implemented properly, the program augments student security and success as well as increases the potential for making school a positive experience.

    In such an atmosphere, students are inspired to excel and feel excited about being in school.

  • School Field Trips Approved: January-February 2012

    Out-of-state and overnight field trips approved by the Roane County Board of Education in January and February:

    Jan. 27-28 — Ten Harriman High Band students to attend TSSBDA Senior Clinic at Cocke County High School, Newport.

    Feb. 2-4 — Four Harriman High Band students to attend ETSBOA Senior Clinic in Gatlinburg.

    Feb. 10-11 — Roane County High wrestling team to compete in regional tournament at Bradley County High