• Kaldenbach in ETSU honor society

    Katrina Kaldenbach of Kingston is among the 75 East Tennessee State University students accepted for membership and initiated into National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society for First-Year Students this past semester.

    Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence among first-year students. It has more than 200 chapters throughout the United States, and more than 700,000 students have been initiated into membership since the first chapter was started more than 85 years ago.

  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga dean's list

    A number of University of Tennessee at Chattanooga students from Roane County made the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They include William Andrews, Kayla Christopher, Mathew Deal, Kaila Gunter, Alexis Huddleston, Arielle Lankford, Erin Lay, Kimberly Murray, Abigail Overstreet, Brittany Smith, Matthew Vick and Jesse Wright.

    Students who make a 3.2 or higher semester grade point average are awarded the honor.

  • Power Teaching event slated

    “On the Cutting Edge” is the title of the fourth annual Symposium on Powerful Teaching to be presented by the Leadership Roane County class of 2011.

    The event, for educators from all grade levels, will be from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. June 18 at Roane State Community College’s Roane County campus.

    Topics will include innovations in the classroom, technology in education and creative teaching on a budget.

    Leland Gregory, educational projects manager for the Tennessee Chamber of Commerce, will be the keynote speaker.

  • Four schools represented in second annual Fun Run

    Students from four of eight Roane County elementary schools participated in the recent second annual Roane County Coordinated School Health Fun Run at Fort Southwest Point.

    Purpose of the event, in its second year, was to get children excited about being outdoors, having fun while being involved in physical activity and providing a fun family event.

    Bowers, Kingston, Midway and Midtown elementary schools were represented. Each will receive a minimum of $100 worth of equipment for their physical education programs.

  • Grasham recipient of ’11 Bernard-Greif scholarship

    Recent Rockwood High School graduate Bethany Rachel Grasham is the recipient of the 2011 Bernard-Greif Scholarship Award.

    The scholarship’s two-year total is $2,000.

    Grasham accepted the award on May 17 at Rockwood High School’s awards night.

    She wants to continue her education to pursue a career in nursing.

    She ranked seventh in the 2011 Rockwood High School senior class.

    She will attend Roane State Community College in the fall.

  • Five chosen for Tennessee Scholars awards at RSCC

    Five students from Roane County will begin their freshman years at Roane State Community College with $500 Tennessee Scholars scholarships.

    Students apply for the scholarship awards, and winners are selected through a drawing.

    The winners from Roane County schools are Autumn Adkisson of Harriman High School, Shelby Miller of Oliver Springs High School, Sarah Reid of Rockwood High School, Taylor Narramore of Midway High School and Corey Reed of Roane County High School.

  • Center brings home Skills USA gold

    Tennessee Technology Center at Harriman has consistently had an outstanding showing in Tennessee Skills USA competitions, and this year was no different.

    Students participating in this year’s competition in Chattanooga brought home five gold medals and two silver medals.

    The gold-medal winners will represent both the center and Tennessee during the national Skills USA competition next month in Kansas City, Mo.

  • Three finish studies in Crossville

    Three Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville students from Roane County were among those who graduated last month.

    Donahue G. Fitzhugh, a welding student from Harriman; and surgical technology students Jennifer Leffew of Rockwood and Chelsi Sholtz of Kingston were awarded their certificates during the spring graduation ceremony.

    They were among 30 students from 10 counties who participated in the ceremony.

  • Author to speak at Oak Ridge campus

    Author Pamela Schoenewaldt will discuss her book “When We Were Strangers” from 6 to 7:30 p.m. May 26 at Roane State Community College’s Oak Ridge campus at 701 Briarcliff Ave.

    The event, sponsored by Library Services and the Humanities Division, is free and open to the public. “When We Were Strangers” tells the story of Irma, who leaves her village in Southern Italy to seek a new life in 19th century America. Copies of the book will be available for purchase.

  • Tennessee Technology Center graduates 73 students

    Seventy-three of the 152 students eligible for spring graduation participated in Tennessee Technology Center at Harriman commencement ceremony late last month in Kingston First Baptist Church.

    Participating in the ceremony are:

    Automotive — Timothy Elkins, Christopher Ferguson and Davis Kring.

    Business systems technology — Tiffany Adkisson, Amber Bright, Bethany Dye, Viola Edmonds, Ryan Hillis, Michelle Ray and Raeleah Sammons.