• Positive Peer Pressure: Oliver Springs Middle School P3 Club

    A group at Oliver Springs Middle School is working hard to build confidence in their fellow students.

    The Positive Peer Pressure Club — P3 Club for short — is an extension of the Roane County Antidrug Coalition.

    Its goal is “to eradicate bullying and to make positivity contagious,” said Jennifer Huckaby, the school counselor who serves as the club’s adviser.

    Huckaby works closely with Kris Hontz of the Antidrug Coalition and the students on projects to brighten the days of others.

  • Apply by March 6 for VEC scholarship

    Roane County students whose parents are served by Volunteer Energy Cooperative are eligible for the Lillard-Shadow Scholarship.

    March 6 is the application deadline.

    Applications are available on the VEC website at www.vec.org, at an Volunteer Energy office or by calling 423-334-7051.

    The scholarship provides funding of up to $2,000 — $500 per semester.

  • Rockwood students represent Roane State at Tenn. forum

    Three Roane State Community College students from Rockwood were among the college’s nine participants in the fall Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature at the State Capitol in Nashville.

    “This is the biggest Roane State delegation in several years,” said John Brown, assistant professor of political science.

    The TISL is a forum for student leaders to exchange ideas, express opinions and learn how government works.

  • MTSU plans tours for transfer students

    Prospective transfer students wanting to check out all that Middle Tennessee State University has to offer are being offered special tours three times in the coming months.

    The Office of Admissions-led tours will be offered on the Murfreesboro campus starting at 9:30 a.m. CST March 13 and April 10.

    Tours will begin in the Student Services and Admissions Center on the east side of campus.

    To find visitor parking adjacent to the center and all campus buildings, visit http://tinyurl.com/MTSUParking14-15 for a printable map.

  • Energy education camps available to area teachers

    The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation Office of Energy Programs has online applications available for the 2015 K-12 Energy Education Camps.

    The four-day educational sessions will provide K-12 educators with information and resources needed to teach the science of energy and energy conservation in the classroom.

    “Energy conservation efforts reduce costs and emissions, enhancing the quality of life for Tennesseans,” said Molly Cripps, TDEC’s director of energy programs.

  • Softball team angels for Renaissance Terrace

    Roane State Community College softball team members, with some of the gifts they donated to residents of Renaissance Terrace, include are Kelly Cooper, Courtney Winston, Keeley Winston, Eboni Dowlen, Maleah Hipsher, Sarah Freels, D.J. Cherry, Samantha Bowling, Kacy Russell, Tiffany Cathey, Kayla Cline, Najmeh Brown, Jena Roberts, Ashton Bowles and Amber Mainord.

    Not pictured are head coach Sue Niemi and assistant coach Jessie Hackworth.

    Team members adopted the residents from the college’s community services committee’s annual angel tree.

  • OSMS participating in Science Bowl

    Oliver Springs Middle School is among the 12 schools participating this weekend in the fifth annual U.S. Department of Energy’s East Tennessee Middle School Science Bowl.

    The event will start at 9 a.m. Feb. 7 on Roane State Community College’s Oak Ridge campus.

    Sixteen teams will participate in a fast-paced academic competition offering students the opportunity to match their wits in math and science.

  • Bob Jones University dean's list: fall 2014

    Barbara Gibbs of Oliver Springs was named to the dean’s list at Bob Jones University for fall semester.

    Students with a semester grade-point average of 3.74 to 3.0 are named to the dean’s list.

    Gibbs is a freshman exercise major. She was among 950 students earning dean’s list placement.

    Bob Jones University is a Christian liberal arts university in Greenville, S.C.

  • Coastal Carolina University dean's list: fall 2014

    Breana Wilson of Oliver Springs was named to the Coastal Carolina University dean’s list for fall semester.

    To qualify for the dean’s list, freshmen must earn a 3.25 grade-point average, and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 GPA. All students must be enrolled full time.

    Wilson is a freshman biochemistry major. She is a graduate of Oliver Springs High School, where she served as drumline captain.

    Coastal Carolina University is a comprehensive liberal arts university in Conway, S.C.

  • East Tennessee State University dean's list: fall 2014

    Fourteen East Tennessee State University students from Roane County earned placement on the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They are:

    Harriman — Allie T. Copeland, Lindsey M. Higgins, Casandra B. Johnson, Caitlyn N. Swymer and Robert W. Taylor.

    Kingston — Matthew T. Campbell, Danielle V. Casaus, Emily P. Denton and Derek T. Gurney.

    Oliver Springs — Victoria S. Cox, Katelyn B. McCarty and Dorothy E. Saye.