• Middle Tennessee State University dean's list

    A number of Middle Tennessee State University students from Roane County earned dean’s
    list honors for fall semester.

    To qualify for this distinction, an undergraduate student must maintain a current semester grade-point average of 3.5 or above and earn at least 12 semester hours, not including developmental hours.

    Students from Roane County earning the distinction are:

    Harriman — Lauren Nicole Jolley, Anit S. Patel and Courtney N. Sanders.

  • Midway Elementary honor roll

    Second Nine Weeks

    A Honor Roll

    Third Grade

    Rebekah Brooks

    Emily Cawood

    Bailey Guinn

    Kadie Lewis

    Gracie Hixon

    Suzanne Hughes

    Connor Quigley

    Creek Johnston

    Brendan Burnum

    Andrew Burton

    Dalton Carroll

    Eliza Sweeney

    Zach England

    Dillon Steele

    Fourth Grade

  • Bowers Elementary honor roll

    Second Nine Weeks

    A Honor Roll

    Third Grade

    Dakotah Schultz

    Jack Simpson

    Marisa Webb

    Nina Elms

    Sydney Fisher

    Cameron Fitzhugh

    Austin Poore

    Lucas Robinson

    Chyanne Weston

    Fourth Grade

    Katie Higgins

    Fifth Grade

    Jacob Futrell

    Trinity Clark

  • RSCC, Tenn. Tech ink dual agreement

    A recent agreement between Roane State Community College and Tennessee Technological University of Cookeville means double the support for students striving to earn a college degree.

    Tennessee Tech President Bob Bell and Roane State President Gary Goff signed the dual admissions program agreement, which offers Roane State students the advantage of a structured plan for completing an associate’s degree and then enrolling at Tennessee Tech to pursue a bachelor’s degree.

  • Middle Tennessee State University graduates

    Three Middle Tennessee State University students from Roane County are among the 1,646 who received their degrees during fall commencement.

    The graduates from Roane County are Kimberly Marie Byrd and Anna J. Williams, both of Kingston, and Darlene Anderson Settles of Lenoir City.

    MTSU is in Murfreesboro.

  • East Tennessee State University graduates

    East Tennessee State University conferred degrees upon five students from Roane County during fall commencement ceremonies.

    Earning graduate degrees were Kermit O. Phipps of Harriman with a master's degree and Stephanie S. Walker of Kingston with a doctorate.

    Bachelor's degree recipients were Ashlee B. Fugate, Amy N. Landers and Ciera L. Smith, all of Kingston.

    ETSU is in Johnson City.

  • Tennessee Tech graduates

    Ten Tennessee Technological University students from Roane County received degrees during fall commencement.

    They include:

    Harriman — Kyle E. Beverly, Misty Leanne Magill and Tabatha Nichole Hamby.

    Kingston — Angela M. George, Aubrey Moore Cagle, Daniel Mefford Ward and Steve Roger Jacks.

    Rockwood — Carl Abene Epley and Jeremy Thomas Broome.

    Ten Mile — Jodi Michelle Jolley.

  • Oliver Springs Elementary honor roll

    Second Nine Weeks

    A Honor Roll

    Stevie Alcorn

    Audrey Baas

    Alivia Baker

    Laura Bannon

    Lily Blair

    Taylor Boswell

    Taylor Bradshaw

    Brandon Buck

    Lindsay Buck

    Audry Budowski

    Austin Byrge

    Johnathan Cate

    Sydney Cornett

    Jacob Dameron

    Abigail Daugherty

    Emily Duggins

  • Roane State athletes assist area students, teachers in classroom

    Roane State Community College baseball players and softball players pitched in at Roane County elementary schools during fall semester.

    Baseball players volunteered at Kingston Elementary School, and softball players helped out at Midtown Elementary School and Walnut Hill Elementary School.

    The athletes assisted with activities in the classroom and read to children.

    “The kids like it, and our guys really enjoy going out into the community and helping,” said Roane State baseball coach David Lane.

  • University of Tennessee at Knoxville honors

    A number of University of Tennessee at Knoxville students from Roane County earned academic honors for fall term.

    They are:

    Summa Cum Laude
    4.0-3.8 term average

    Harriman — Hubert Gibson and Britanny Lively.

    Kingston — Charlotte Bayer, Ashley Carter, Richard Christensen, Kevin Hensley, Hannah Lay, Kyle Roschli, Katharine Vanlandingham, Graham Waldrip and Sarah Waldrip.