• School board cited

    Roane County Board of Education was recently recognized as a Board of Distinction by the Tennessee School Boards Association.

    TSBA’s Board of Distinction Program recognizes outstanding performance by a school board as a whole in the areas of planning, policy, promotion and board development.  

    To qualify, boards must meet specific standards within a two-year period.

  • Take surgical tech exam by February

    Tennessee Technology Center at Crossville requires candidates for its spring surgical technology program to take and pass the entrance test by February.

    The test is given every month. Those interested must preregister by calling Alison at 931-484-7502, Ext. 125.

    The exam fee is $15, payable in advance. This fee is non-refundable and non-transferrable to another date.

    Information about further procedures and deadlines is available by calling 931-484-7502, Ext. 127, or visiting     www.ttcc.edu.

  • Prestigious MTSU honor for Aslinger, Griner
  • Bowers Elementary perfect attendance

    First Nine Weeks
    Abraham Barry
    Bricen Mee
    Ryan Woitaszewski
    Elizabeth Kerley
    Michael Peddicord
    Trenton Wright
    Joseph McDonald
    Nicholas Pelfrey
    First Grade
    Dominic Chesser
    Allan Hovey
    Loki Luttrell
    Abigail Roberts
    Javen Crass
    Brooke Jenkins
    Landon Parrish
    Jonathan Googe
    Layken Kemp
    Sabrina Peters
    Second Grade
    Keshana Garrett

  • Oliver Springs Elementary perfect attendance

    First Nine Weeks
    Kylee Alcorn
    Stevie Alcorn
    Matthew Armstrong
    Zachary Armstrong
    Autumn Benbenek
    Dylan Blanchard
    Kelsey Blank
    Taylor Boswell
    Tiffany Boswell
    Ramcey Brown
    Sable Brown
    Tyler Brown
    Adam Carroll
    Jonathan Cate
    Joseph Chaston
    Abigail Daugherty
    Brett Daugherty
    Lucas Daugherty
    Sarah Davenport
    Sydney Davenport
    David Edmundson
    Savanna Evans
    Landen Everett
    Audrey Fox

  • Midway Elementary honor roll

    First Nine Weeks
    A Honor Roll
    Third Grade

    Chloe Allen
    Emily Cawood
    Bailey Guinn
    Kadie Lewis
    Savanna Rayburn
    Faith Riggs
    Justin Vann
    Gracey Hixon
    Suzanne Hughes
    Creek Johnston
    Connor Quigley
    Allison Walker
    Sydney Bryant
    Brendan Burnum
    Andrew Burton
    Dalton Carroll
    Lauryn Purda
    Eliza Sweeney
    Dillon Steele
    Lucas Goldschmitt
    Fourth Grade
    Rekiyah Esquibel

  • Midway Elementary perfect attendance

    First Nine Weeks

    Mary Contreras
    Logan Carroll
    Sierra Cowell
    Jayleigh Davis
    Paige Gable
    Caleb Hall
    John Kevorkian
    Chase Letner
    Paul Lyles
    Cadence Miles
    James Moses
    Haydence O’Toole
    Amelia Stakely
    Meredith Sweeney
    First Grade
    Dalton Bacon
    Montana Bagnell
    Katelyn Braden
    Elijah Cogdill
    Jacob Gardner
    Nikki Moore
    Gracie Rue
    Cyrus Trew

  • New Distance Learning Center opens

    Roane County Schools opened a new Roane County High School Distance Learning Center this week.

    The center is a dedicated classroom room ideal for large team meetings, cross-functional or training events and distance learning.

    The center has four large LCD screens and a Promethean interactive white board to enhance classroom participation.

    The LCD displays are for sharing rich media content and using collaboration tools. The classroom has integrated cameras, lights, microphones and speakers to optimize the learning experience.

  • Clark, Rue take top honors in annual writing contest

    Roane County High School senior Hannah Clark is the grand-prize winner of the second annual Roane County Student Writing Contest.

    Clark received the honor for her short story, “And His Sweat Became as Blood,” during an awards ceremony on Nov. 13 on the campus of Roane State Community College.

    Michael Vanlandingham, Clark’s advanced-placement English teacher, presented her with the “Flame of Knowledge” medal and expressed his praise for her creative, compelling short story.

  • Oliver Springs Elementary honor roll

    First Nine Weeks
    A Honor Roll

    Lilly Blair
    Taylor Boswell
    Taylor Bradshaw
    Brandon Buck
    Lindsay Buck
    Austin Byrge,
    Adam Carroll
    Johnathan Cate
    Sarah Channell
    Joseph Chaston
    Savannah Clark
    Tabatha Comeaux
    Sydney Cornett
    Jacob Dameron
    Abigail Daugherty
    Bradley Devaney
    Emily Duggins
    Sydney Duggins
    Julia Estes
    Lane Evans