• Clark, Rue take top honors in annual writing contest

    Roane County High School senior Hannah Clark is the grand-prize winner of the second annual Roane County Student Writing Contest.

    Clark received the honor for her short story, “And His Sweat Became as Blood,” during an awards ceremony on Nov. 13 on the campus of Roane State Community College.

    Michael Vanlandingham, Clark’s advanced-placement English teacher, presented her with the “Flame of Knowledge” medal and expressed his praise for her creative, compelling short story.

  • Oliver Springs Elementary honor roll

    First Nine Weeks
    A Honor Roll

    Lilly Blair
    Taylor Boswell
    Taylor Bradshaw
    Brandon Buck
    Lindsay Buck
    Austin Byrge,
    Adam Carroll
    Johnathan Cate
    Sarah Channell
    Joseph Chaston
    Savannah Clark
    Tabatha Comeaux
    Sydney Cornett
    Jacob Dameron
    Abigail Daugherty
    Bradley Devaney
    Emily Duggins
    Sydney Duggins
    Julia Estes
    Lane Evans

  • ETSU sets Knoxville event for high school seniors, parents

    East Tennessee State University’s Office of Admissions will have a reception next month for Knoxville area high school students and their families.

    The reception will be from 5 to 7 p.m. Dec. 2 in Peerless Restaurant at 320 N. Peters Road. Light refreshments will be served.

    Information offered will include admissions procedures, scholarships, financial aid and housing.

    Representatives from many academic departments will also attend.

  • 23 finish studies at RSCC

    Twenty-three Roane State Community College students from Roane County graduated following summer semester.

    Graduates with a grade-point average of 3.89-3.7 earned a magna cum laude degree. They were:

    Harriman — Lindsay Evans.

    Kingston — Derek Luttrell.

    Oliver Springs — Amanda Irwin.

    Rockwood — Brenda Brandon and Richard Kittrell.

  • Bowers Elementary honor roll

    First Nine Weeks
    A Honor Roll
    Third Grade

    Shelby Bowlin
    Adrianna Nolan
    Sydney Fisher
    Lucas Robinson
    Jerica Kanipe
    Jack Simpson
    Nina Elms
    Chyanne Weston
    Christian Martrain
    Marisa Webb
    Cameron Fitzhugh
    Fourth Grade
    Katie Higgins
    Jacob Kinney
    Elizabeth Rueff
    Fifth Grade
    Trinity Clark
    Madeline Moore
    Emily Swallows

  • Five from Roane County make RSCC dean's list

    Five Roane State Community College students from Roane County earned placement on the dean’s list during summer semester.

    They are Tim Frady and Eric Rackard, both of Harriman; Kaley Settlemyer of Kingston; Jordan Alcorn of Oliver Springs; and Angelina Wicks of Rockwood.

    To be eligible, a student must attain at least a 3.5 grade-point average while attempting 12 or more semester hours.

    Roane State is a two-year college providing transfer curricula, career-preparation programs and continuing education. Visit www.roanestate.edu or call 1-866-GO2-RSCC for details.

  • Race Day! Schools' Run for Your Health attracts all ages

    Last Saturday morning was cold and crisp, but that didn’t stop runners and walkers from enjoying the Roane County Schools Run for Your Health 5K Run/Walk.

    Participants ranged from 6-71 years of age. They came from the Roane County school district to Knoxville, Lenoir City, Crossville — and even Tucker, Ga.

    Roane County’s state Sen. Ken Yager was the “official starter.” The senator welcomed participants and gave a special welcome to our out of town visitors.

  • Roane race participants

    Mary Adkisson
    Alan Dausman
    Michael Holmes
    Jeff Jenkins
    Lisa Jenkins
    Jessica Jones
    Mary Wicks
    Doris Windsand-Dausman

    Kristina Byrd
    Tony Clower
    Cully Gargan
    Wade Gargan
    Cheny Groberg
    Chris Guettner
    Katie Guettner
    Jana Harvey
    Sam Layne
    Bradley Mitchell
    Braden Pettitt
    Ginger Pettitt
    Lauren Shell
    Nathan Shell
    Elizabeth Rose

  • Writing winners to be honored

    An awards ceremony honoring winners of the Roane County Student Writing Contest will be begin at 2 p.m. Nov. 13 at Roane State Community College’s theater.

    It will be recorded for the new TV station located at the Princess Theater.

    Student writers from grades 4-12 will be honored. The ceremony will be one of the first events broadcast by the new community TV channel, HRS15, when it is online and producing shows next year.

    The Roane County Writers Group and the Kingston Public Library Foundation sponsor the annual writing contest.

  • Midway students of the month honored