Today's News

  • Midway Elementary perfect attendance

    Second Nine Weeks


    Alex Glandon

    Nicholas Mize

    Clayton Campfield

    Meredith Sweeney

    Amelia Stakely

    John Kevorkian

    First Grade

    Caleb Beason

    Miranda Crayton

    Shayla Wood

    Dominic Meza

    Nikki Moore

    Jacob Gardner

    R.J. Kupfer

    Gracie Click

  • Christian life-skills workshop planned at Roane SDA

    Award-winning author Lee Gugliotto is coming to Roane County to present a Christian life-skills 101 workshop.

    The workshop will be Feb. 11-16 in Roane Community Seventh-day Adventist Church.

    Sessions will begin at 7 p.m. daily in the church at 336 Patton Lane. Call 354-3410 for details.

    The workshop is designed to train people to develop a more dynamic relationship with Christ through inductive Bible study, deep personal prayer and by showing others how it’s done through biblical homes and home Bible fellowships.

  • Cherokee to be part of DOE's Science Bowl

    Kingston’s Cherokee Middle School is among schools across the region that will participate in Tennessee’s first U.S. Department of Energy Middle School Science Bowl.  

    The competition, beginning 9 a.m. Feb. 5 on the Oak Ridge campus of Roane State Community College, will provide middle school students from East Tennessee the opportunity to showcase their science knowledge and win an all-expense-paid trip to the national competition in Washington, D.C.  

  • Tennessee Tech dean's list

    A number of Tennessee Technological University students from Roane County were named to the school’s dean’s list for fall semester.

    They are:

    Harriman — Beverly Elizabeth Halburnt, Bo Christopher Murphy, Cara Faye Hill, Chase Allan Ray, Chloe Jade Morton, Jacob Neil Jones, Jennifer L. Pistole, Kallie Marie Dagley, Kathryn Edith Farnham, Kevin Frederick Ramsey, Lynwood Ross Sampson, Rachael Leigh Knox, Rebekah Jean Taylor, Sarah Nichole Jarnagin, Shellee Jane Galyon, Steven Don-Robert Stewart and Travis Lynn Jones.

  • Bowers Elementary perfect attendance

    Second Nine Weeks

  • University of Tennessee at Martin graduates, dean's list

    Bridget J. Thew of Harriman received her undergraduate degree from the University of Tennessee at Martin during the recent fall commencement.

    She also earned placement on the school’s dean’s list for fall semester.

    Thew made the list with high honors. Students with high honors designation have earned a grade-point average of 3.5-3.79 on a 4.0 scale.

    To be eligible for
    dean’s list recognition at UT Martin, a student must take at least 12 hours of credit and achieve a 3.2 GPA.

  • Oliver Springs Elementary perfect attendance

    Second Nine Weeks

    Colyn Adcock

    Bryson Alcorn

    Stevie Alcorn

    Jenna Baker

    Brady Beach

    Kelsey Blank

    Brianna Bookout

    Taylor Boswell

    Tiffany Boswell

    Tyler Brown

    Trevor Bunch

    Gavin Carter

    Johnathan Cate

    Christen Chaston

    Joseph Chaston

    Kayla Collins

    Nicholas Comeaux

  • East Tennessee State University dean's list

    Four East Tennessee State University students from Roane County attained grade-point averages qualifying them for inclusion in the dean’s list for fall session.

    Wesley K. Rather of Harriman and Katrina Y. Kaldenbach, Hunter D. Smith and Jeremy B. Woody, all of Kingston, attained the honors designation.

    To receive this honor, students must successfully complete a minimum of 12 hours of undergraduate coursework with a grade-point average of at least 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

    ETSU is in Johnson City.

  • Middle Tennessee State University dean's list

    A number of Middle Tennessee State University students from Roane County earned dean’s
    list honors for fall semester.

    To qualify for this distinction, an undergraduate student must maintain a current semester grade-point average of 3.5 or above and earn at least 12 semester hours, not including developmental hours.

    Students from Roane County earning the distinction are:

    Harriman — Lauren Nicole Jolley, Anit S. Patel and Courtney N. Sanders.

  • Midway Elementary honor roll

    Second Nine Weeks

    A Honor Roll

    Third Grade

    Rebekah Brooks

    Emily Cawood

    Bailey Guinn

    Kadie Lewis

    Gracie Hixon

    Suzanne Hughes

    Connor Quigley

    Creek Johnston

    Brendan Burnum

    Andrew Burton

    Dalton Carroll

    Eliza Sweeney

    Zach England

    Dillon Steele

    Fourth Grade