Today's News

  • New Post Oak pastor

    Post Oak Baptist Church, Rockwood, welcomes Jimmy Turpin as the church’s new pastor.

    Turpin and his wife, Tammy, have two children, Cheyenne and Dakota.

    The church is on Joiner Hollow Road.

  • Old-mountain remedies seminar set

    Health educator Walt Cross of Newport will present a free Old Mountain Remedies workshop from 6 to 8:45 p.m. Feb. 12 in the fellowship hall of Roane Seventh-day Adventist Church at 336 Patton Lane.

    The needs of East Tennessee families were cared for with old-mountain remedies for generations. From golden-seal to corn silk, these herbs were and continue to be common medications.

  • Softball team angels for Renaissance Terrace

    Roane State Community College softball team members, with some of the gifts they donated to residents of Renaissance Terrace, include are Kelly Cooper, Courtney Winston, Keeley Winston, Eboni Dowlen, Maleah Hipsher, Sarah Freels, D.J. Cherry, Samantha Bowling, Kacy Russell, Tiffany Cathey, Kayla Cline, Najmeh Brown, Jena Roberts, Ashton Bowles and Amber Mainord.

    Not pictured are head coach Sue Niemi and assistant coach Jessie Hackworth.

    Team members adopted the residents from the college’s community services committee’s annual angel tree.

  • OSMS participating in Science Bowl

    Oliver Springs Middle School is among the 12 schools participating this weekend in the fifth annual U.S. Department of Energy’s East Tennessee Middle School Science Bowl.

    The event will start at 9 a.m. Feb. 7 on Roane State Community College’s Oak Ridge campus.

    Sixteen teams will participate in a fast-paced academic competition offering students the opportunity to match their wits in math and science.

  • Bob Jones University dean's list: fall 2014

    Barbara Gibbs of Oliver Springs was named to the dean’s list at Bob Jones University for fall semester.

    Students with a semester grade-point average of 3.74 to 3.0 are named to the dean’s list.

    Gibbs is a freshman exercise major. She was among 950 students earning dean’s list placement.

    Bob Jones University is a Christian liberal arts university in Greenville, S.C.

  • Coastal Carolina University dean's list: fall 2014

    Breana Wilson of Oliver Springs was named to the Coastal Carolina University dean’s list for fall semester.

    To qualify for the dean’s list, freshmen must earn a 3.25 grade-point average, and upperclassmen must earn a 3.5 GPA. All students must be enrolled full time.

    Wilson is a freshman biochemistry major. She is a graduate of Oliver Springs High School, where she served as drumline captain.

    Coastal Carolina University is a comprehensive liberal arts university in Conway, S.C.

  • East Tennessee State University dean's list: fall 2014

    Fourteen East Tennessee State University students from Roane County earned placement on the dean’s list for fall semester.

    They are:

    Harriman — Allie T. Copeland, Lindsey M. Higgins, Casandra B. Johnson, Caitlyn N. Swymer and Robert W. Taylor.

    Kingston — Matthew T. Campbell, Danielle V. Casaus, Emily P. Denton and Derek T. Gurney.

    Oliver Springs — Victoria S. Cox, Katelyn B. McCarty and Dorothy E. Saye.

  • Lincoln Memorial University dean's list: fall 2014

    Four Lincoln Memorial University students from Roane County are among nearly 500 named to the dean’s list for fall semester.

    Those earning dean’s list honors include Kate Barnett and Ashley Green, both of Kingston, Kathryn Booher of Harriman, and Teresa Boshears of Oliver Springs.

    To be on the dean’s list, the student must be a full-time undergraduate and have a 3.5 grade point average for the semester.

    Lincoln Memorial University is in Harrogate.

  • Tennessee Technological University graduates: fall 2014

    Eleven Roane County students were among the more than 650 Technological University graduates during fall semester.

    They are:

    Harriman — Audrey D. Bullard, Amber Leann Butcher and Kathryn Edith Farnham.

    Kingston — Matthew James Courteau, Shaun David Tipton, Jessica Allaine Watson-Anderson and Richard Dillon Willett.

    Oliver Springs — Jessica Elaine Duncan.

    Rockwood — Adam Scott Doughty and Jacob Kane Kelley.

  • University of Tennessee at Chattanooga dean's list: fall 2014

    Eleven students from Roane County are on the dean’s list for fall semester at University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

    They include Tymber Bodine, Jordan Burdette, Kaitlyn Byrd, Lindsey Denton, Kiley Gunter, Spencer Klein, Kristen Kyker, Autumn McCarroll, Cree Moore, Mary Palko and Christian Phillips.

    Students who make a 3.2 or higher semester grade-point average are awarded the honor.